Charity Zumbathon and Batiste 2in1!

I broke up for the summer holidays on 30th June, and left for CCF camp on 1st July. Some might think that is not the ideal start to a summer break, but when you have 9 weeks off, a week getting paid to accompany some military activities and enlighten men as to a young woman’s ability to handle a rifle is not something I shake my head at.

Nevertheless, my return from CCF camp signalled the start of my summer holidays and so the next day I woke up, hopped on a train to London and did a 2 hour Zumbathon, obviously.

Whilst I was away, a bottle of new Batiste 2in1 dry shampoo and conditioner was delivered. I must admit that I am a big fan of dry shampoo. I usually wash my hair every other day, but as I often don’t have the chance to work out first thing in the morning – dry shampoo is a god send to keep my hair fresh in between. When Batiste sent me it to try out, I was particularly interested as this offered conditioning as well as shampooing.

The morning of the zumbathon I knew I didn’t want to wash my hair properly, as I would be getting sweaty again later, so I freshened up with my new can of Batiste 2in1. What I like a lot aboutthis new product, is that it is much less drying and doesn’t leave so much texture on my fine hair. It’s really important that you spray it all over, as opposed to just directing at the roots, massage on and brush through. Due to its conditioning properties, spraying directly at the roots can cause your roots to look greasy. Therefore, if you hair is already greasy, stick to a standard dry shampoo. This one is best for a freshen up between workouts or between work and a night out. It doesn’t leave a white residue and it also helps my fine hair keep some volume, always a plus!

Before and After using Batiste 2in1

After a quick spray and brush, My hair smelled great and I was confident enough to leave it unwashed until after the zumbathon.

The zumbathon itself was 2 hours of dancing outside in the gardens of the Laboratory Health Club. It was a hot day, but I drunk plenty of water and kept going right until the end. I hadn’t done Zumba for a few years, so I was a bit nervous about keeping up with the dance moves, but I just went for it and enjoyed myself. It was all in aid of the charity Mind, which supports mental health, something I feel passionate about supporting. My own mental health is linked to my self-esteem, as I have struggled with body dysmorphoa and eating disorders. I therefore took this opportunity to ignore the voice in my head telling me that I looked stupid and danced and jumped around freely! As well as my entry fee, I bought several raffle tickets in support of Mind and was lucky enough to win a Sweaty Betty gift bag, a day pass at the gym and a voucher for a hair cut at a salon in London. We ended up raising around Β£1500, which will go a long way in supporting this charity.

All in all it was a great day and a really worthy cause. I would definitely recommend Zumba as a fun cardio activity and Mind as a worthwhile charity. I would also recommend Batiste 2in1 as a reliable dry shampoo, perfect for those of us who work out regularly and can’t always wash our hair in between.

*I was given a free can of Batiste 2in1 dry shampoo and conditioner in return for my honest opinion. I have included it in this post as an example of a key time that I have used it – all thoughts and opinions are my own and unsponsored!*

Leave a Reply

