Living with Labrynthitis.

A tiny minotaur has taken up residence in my inner ear – causing chaos, panic and destruction.

Three weeks ago, I woke up at 6:30 am – unlocked the boarding house and promptly returned to bed. I was tired, it was nearly the end of the first half term after Christmas, and I hadn’t had a single day off.

At 7:30 am my regular alarm went off and I went to sit up and get out of bed, the room spun rapidly and I find myself flat on my back. It took three further attempts to get up before my partner had fully come to and was able to lift me to a sitting position. Obviously, by this point, I was pretty distressed; I had no idea what was happening to me. To cut a long story short, once I was able to stand up, get dressed and get to a doctor, I was diagnosed with labyrinthitis.Essentially, this is a problem with your inner ear, causing you to become dizzy, uncoordinated and nauseous.

Apparently, labyrinthitis is common around this time of year and can be caused by a number of factors, extreme stress being one of them. It could also have been caused by the lifesaving course I completed over 2 Sundays in order to enable me to supervise swimming in the school pool. Let’s just say I spent a fair amount of time underwater! Luckily for me, a number of other members of staff at my school had experienced this bizarre illness before, and so I was given enough sympathy and support to make it through the final week before the half term holiday.

Unfortunately, the advice I was given to get through the illness was to avoid driving, physical activity, caffeine and alcohol. I’m not going to lie, these are several of my favourite things and whilst I haven’t been able to survive without a caffeine fix or the occasional alcoholic beverage, I have exercised caution when consuming.

I haven’t been able to exercise for 3 weeks.

I’m not sure if it’s psychological, but I am convinced that my body has changed. I was already concerned about the limited number of workouts my job enables me to complete, but to do barely anything other than walk my gorgeous doggie has been a difficult thing to come to terms with. The good news is that I am slowly but surely on the mend, and I hope to be able to exercise properly again next week.

Damage Control

I have the tendency to try to overcompensate for lapses in my health and fitness regime. In the past, this has led to 24hr fasts or 1000 calorie workouts. I am trying to approach this in a more sensible manner, but hello, it is nearly March and I have a holiday to Crete booked in July. Therefore, I have decided to purchase one of Fitness Blender’s workout programmes to follow from next week onwards. I think  I will go for the FBSweat 4 week programme as that should kickstart some weight loss, and more importantly, make me feel better. 4 weeks is not too long to keep up 5 workouts a week and I like that this programme is customisable with 30 – 50minute workouts. My biggest concern is hair washing, but I have got around this before with cleverly timed workouts! It will involve early starts on the days that I can’t fit in an evening workout, but I am determined to get back into a good routine. Once I have completed the 4 weeks, I aim to go back to my usual 3 workouts a week regime to maintain results.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

