My Healthiest Habits

At the peak of my eating disorder, the list of things I just had to do everyday reached the pinnacle of ridiculous.

  1. Drink 2-3 litres of charcoal filtered water (The first glass warm with lemon)
  2. Drink 2 cups of green tea.
  3. Drink 2 cups of spearmint tea.
  4. Blend and drink a green smoothie.
  5. Take astaxanthin, multi vit, fish oil and vitamin k.
  6. Eat 130g of protein (g of fat and carbs varied according to rest or work out days)
  7. Drink 3tsp of cayenne pepper suspended in lemon water before every meal (supposed to help with cellulite, but who knows, it was just spicy hell 3 times a day)
  8. Eat 5-10 portions of fruit and veg (mainly veg)
  9. No more than 2 cups of coffee. (Organic, obv.)
  10. No refined sugar or white flour.
  11. No non-organic dairy.
  12. 2 tbsp of collagen hydrolysate (gelatin) morning and night.
  13. Work-out (unless it was a rest day) + hit 10,000 steps with my fitbit
  14.  Evening yoga (even on a rest day)
  15. ZPD supplement before bed (10pm)

Yes I did this every day, and yes I also worked a full-time job and cooked from scratch… and my room was also a tip and my social life was this annoying thing that got in the way of my gains and goals.

I have explained in previous posts why this was not healthy and how I calmed down, but rather than talking about what I stopped doing daily, here is a list of realistic things I do daily (most, not all, days – nobody is perfect.)

  • Hot water and lemon first thing in the morning. Drink through a straw to save your teeth. I also like to add ACV and/or grated ginger if I have some.
  • Blend green smoothie:

 

Green smoothie
250 ml coconut water, zest of 1/2 lemon, 1 tsp grated ginger, 80g fruit, 80g greens, 1 tbsp maca, 1 tbsp flaxseed, 1 tbsp chia. 2 tbsp collagen hydrolysate.

 

  • Drink smoothie alongside protein rich breakfast (usually eggs for me, sometimes yoghurt)
  • Take multi vitamin and fish oil (October – May) or 12mg astaxanthin (June – September). Astaxanthin supports my pale skin in the summer!
  • Protein source and vegetables included in every meal.
  • Cook with coconut oil when possible (but I don’t like coconut scrambled eggs so butter wins there every-time.)
  • Drink a glass of water every time I go to the toilet and before each meal ( I find this much easier to manage and remember than lugging about 2-3 litres.
  • 2 cups of coffee a day, green tea if I need pick me up after 3pm. Some days are just a 3 cups of coffee kind of day though, especially Mondays.

I repeat this most days and find it easy to stay on top of.

My weekly routine varies, but ideally looks like this:

  • Work out 3 times a week (HIIT and strength) at least 40mins.
  • 1 hr 3o mins of yoga once a week, but I try to include some yoga in my cool-downs throughout the week.
  • Alcohol and treats reserved for the weekend.

I used to always stick to ‘never miss a Monday workout’ because it sets you up for the week, but now on Mondays I leave for work at 7am and don’t get home until 8pm, so I usually aim for a Tuesday work out instead!

The most important thing I keep in mind, is that it’s not the end of the world if I run out of greens for my smoothie and have to skip one, or if I have a biscuit with one of my cups of coffee. Life is about balance and these habits help to make me feel better, but I don’t view them as a strict list of rules anymore.

What healthy habits do you try to stick to daily?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

